Sight-Seeing in Sørumsand, Norway

Dear Real Sofia,

After arriving at my home in Trondheim, Norway, Flat Sofia got to immediately travel with me to Sørumsand, a village just 30 minutes north-east of the Norwegian capital of Oslo. (Unfortunately, we didn’t have time to go to Oslo this time around.)  My Mum lives in Sørumsand, so the whole family went with me so we could spend some time with her.  My two sons (1 1/2 and 4 1/2 years old) got to spend time with their Grandmother while I took Flat Sofia with me to work.

1. Flat Sofia at work for NDLAI was attending a big conference for school leaders in a hotel in Lillestrøm, a town 15 minutes away.  We took the train to Lillestrøm.  Here is Flat Sofia by one of the signs at the conference.  I work at a company that makes digital learning resources for what is the equivalent of a senior high school in Norway (students that are 16-18 years old). It’s called the National Digital Learning Arena.

2. Flat Sofia and Inga Lillestr_m train stationHere are Flat Sofia and me in front of the train station in Lillestrøm.  This photo was taken around 3:00 pm and you can see how dark it is already in the afternoons so far north in the world this time of year.

4. Flat Sofia and Sverre

On Saturday, we spent the day outside. Here is Flat Sofia with my oldest son, Sverre.

5. Flat Sofia in front of the houseThis is a photo of Flat Sofia outside of my Mum’s house. It is about five minutes away from the village center in Sørumsand and is close to the woods.

7. Flat Sofia Sohlbergplass lookout point RondaneOn Sunday we drove back to  Trondheim. There are several roads leading to Trondheim. We took the road that passes through the Venabygd mountain area that leads us to the National Tourist Road of Rondane. Rondane is a mountain area with quite high mountain tops, and is also a National Park. We stopped at the lookout point Sohlbergplass. The lookout point is named after a Norwegian painter, Harald Sohlberg, who is famous for his painting “Winter Night in Rondane“. The painting is painted from exactly the same spot where the lookout point is now.

I hope that Flat Sofia enjoyed the short trip to Sørumsand, and I’m excited to show her around Trondheim next.

Love,
Inga

P.S.  If you want to host Flat Sofia, please email Real Sofia at sofia@gswfamily.com.

You Might Also Enjoy:

This entry was posted in Europe, My Adventure and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Sight-Seeing in Sørumsand, Norway

  1. Inga says:

    So fun to see “my” post. Best wishes from Norway 🙂

Leave a comment